Sugar fast: Day twelve

17 04 2009

A few weeks ago several Arab organizers were arrested and beaten at a peace demonstration on the anniversary of the Iraq war. I’ve had a pretty debilitating sugar addiction for all of my adult life. I’m ready to kick it. Some people run marathons and ask people to sponsor them, pledging some money for every mile they run.

Twelve days ago I asked friends and family to match my contributions and donate a dollar per day that I manage to go without refined sugar, with the goal of a month of sugary abstinence.

Proceeds go to support the Arab Organizing and Resource Center (AROC).

The most recent police targeting and repression is just one moment in the ongoing struggle that Arab organizers face. Supporting their work is crucial right now, especially with the election of the far-right in Israel and horrible violence in Gaza and elsewhere. This little fundraiser is a way I celebrated Pesach (Passover), a holiday where Jews reflect on our history of oppression and pledge solidarity and support with oppressed peoples.

After 12 days, I literally have dreams where I eat pastries and then realize I’m on a sugar fast and then feel super guilty. I wake up in a cold sweat, thankful that I’ve stayed faithful in real life. Guess that’s part of the detox process?

Will you to sponsor me in my sugar fast? It will help get funding to support an important organization in a time of need, as well as give me a way to feel more accountable to my personal commitments to live a healthier life. If so, message me thru the facebook page or leave a comment. So far 49 people have pledged to hold me accountable in stepping off the path of diabetes, uncontrollable brownie binges, and fantasies of molten chocolate dunk tanks. Will you be #50?

These rockstars support human rights, sustained organizing, and Josh not getting diabetes:

1. Adrienne Maree Brown
2. Max Elbaum
3. Shadia Fayne Wood
4. Mahfam Malek
5. Max Uhlenbeck
6. Clare Bayard
7. Manjula Martin
8. Katharine Wallerstein
9. Nupur Modi
10. Max Bell Alper
11. Kimia Ghomeshi
12. Rahula Janowski
13. Robin Beck
14. Jocelyn Berger
15. Josh Rosenthal
16. Kathryn Hollender-kidder
17. Virginie Corominas
18. Khalid Matthew Stehney
19. Amie Fishman
20. Alexa Markley
21. Ragini Kapadia
22. Marla DiCarlo Deschenes
23. Christy Tennery
24. Adrian Wilson
25. Sharon Lungo
26. Danny Raposo
27. Harjit Singh Gill
28. Callie Mackenzie
29. Bruin Christopher Runyan
30. Jonathan Kosakow
31. Adrianna Hutchinson
32. Patrick Reinsboro
33. Amy Kahn Russell
34. Sarah Light
35. Jennifer Chen
36. Lara Cushing
37. Amanda Starbuck
38. Michael Weber
39. Jodie Tonita
40. Aurora Levins Morales
41. Juliana Williams
42. Kasha Ho
43. Michelle Proffit
44. Lynn Stone
45. Matt Kern
46. Maryam Adrangi
47. Jessamyn Sabbag
48. Kim Leutwyler
49. Fernando Ausin-Gómez
50. Ted Nace
51. Lauren Greis
52. Aaron Newman
53. Michael A. Weber
54. Josh Lynch
55. YOU???

Also, here is a quick Josh’s-Sugar-Fast-for-AROC-FAQ (JSFAROCFAQ):


Q: don’t you feel better after almost two weeks of not eating sugar?

A: No. I don’t.

Q: do you still crave sugar?

A: Yes. I do. Usually when I pass a pastry or chocolate I torture myself by staring and salivating. its kind of gross.

Q: What happens if you stay off sugar forever? Does that mean pledgers gotta ante up ALL THE TIME?! ISNT PLEDGING LIKE WRITING A BLANK CHECK AAAAHHH!

A: No. The pledging lasts only for my month commitment. If I stay off sugar after that I lose this cute accountability mechanism of the pledge thing.

Q: Are you quitting sugar for good!?

A: Hell no. I dont believe the opposite of addiction is abstinence. I’m tryina get it out of my system long enough that I can eat it in moderation like a human rather than a cartoon character.

Q: when are the Brownie Kids gonna have a reunion tour?

A: Promised Rolling Stone that they’d have first dibs on any announcement like that, sorry.

Q: Do you eat fruit? What about Molasses? WHAT ABOUT AGAVE!??!

A: the rules are white refined sugar. but the intention behind it is around candies/chocolates/pastries. so like hershey caramel bombs that are sweetened with malitol are not somethin im indulging in.

Thats all for now!

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 04 2009
Ted Nace

add me!

18 12 2009
my year without

I would be fascinated to know if you are able to eat sugar in moderation after your abstinence. It is something I fear I WON’T be able to do which is why I am still off of the white stuff!

I LOVE what you are doing and WHY you are doing it. Congrats for two worthy causes.

18 12 2009
my year without

By the way, could I borrow your picture for a blog post, giving you credit of course?

Leave a Reply

